Eyes Wide Open

I want to live life with my eyes wide open.

For too long I have dodged eye contact, hiding in the shadows.

The pain loomed, a black hole trying to obliterate me…

I felt too much.  Thought too much

Was too much.

 

I backed away

If I shrank back far enough I didn’t have to feel it all.

The too much could not swallow me whole.

 

If I took shallow breaths of the air around me

Instead of deep draughts

Maybe the pain wouldn’t pierce so deeply.

 

 

Slowly and haltingly Life stands in front

Of the little girl that is my heart.

Life’s hands close gently over hers

Her  hands that are pressed so hard onto her eyes that she sees red flashes

On the inside of her eyelids.

 

Life pries those hands away from her eyes

Color floods in.

 

Pain yes.  Piercing pain.

But also joy.  Life.  Light.

Bright yellows.  Vibrant reds.  Verdant greens.  Deep blues.  Dingy browns.  Soul-sucking blacks.

It’s all there.

 

Life holds my hands out in front of me

Turns my palms up.

And says

 

Receive.

 

See.

2 thoughts on “Eyes Wide Open

Leave a comment