Deceptively Peaceful

At 8:30 last night, after a long, frustrating day with the girls, I breathed a sigh of relief that Little Miss was asleep.  She’d gone to sleep sweetly, after asking for one last kiss and snuggle from Daddy.

Then I worked on the task of getting Baboo to sleep.  We  nursed, we rocked, we patted.  Nursed, patted.  Finally she nursed to sleep.  I tried to lay her in her crib.  No go.  Nursed, patted.  Tried to lay her in her crib.  No go. 

Finally about 10:30, it worked.  I lay down next to husband and said, “I just want to not be ‘Mom’ for a few minutes…  It’s been a long day.”

No sooner were the words spoken than Baboo woke up.  I nursed her.  She fell asleep beside me.  I left her there.  A girl’s gotta get some sleep.

3:30 a.m. rolls around and I hear the pitter patter of little feet.  Our bedroom door opens and Little Miss crawls into our  bed.  She settles in between us.  And…  She plays with my hair, she kicks my back, she tries to strangle me in her toddler choke hold.  Baboo wakes up to nurse.  I  nurse her to sleep.  Little Miss continues the kicking and choking.

I. am. done.

I retreated to the futon in Baboo’s room…  Hoping no one would notice and everyone would get a little sleep then.

No. Such. Luck.

20 minutes later Baboo is crying again, having been awakened by the kicking choking Little Miss.  Should have seen that one coming.

I nurse Baboo.  Daddy tries to get Little Miss settled back in HER bed again.

She. Doesn’t. Think. So.

I finish nursing Baboo and take over on Operation Make Toddler Sleep.

I get her settled.  But she is unhappy with the door being open.  She closes it.  Then she cries that it’s closed.

Door issue is settled.  Then Chester sneaks in.  She freaks out about Chester.  I lock Chester in the garage.

She settles again.  I go back to bed.  I gently lift Baboo out of bed, and take her back to her crib.  I look at Husband and say, “Spoon Me!  I WILL have an hour of non-Mom time!”

Famous. Last. Words.

At this point it is 5:15 a.m.  Little Miss has been in her room about 20 minutes.  The door opens.  I hear the pitter patter of little feet.  I tell her to go back to bed. 

5:30 a.m.  I am drifting in almost asleep land.  Door opens.  Pitter Patter of Little Feet.  This barely registers.  10 minutes later when I hear banging in the living room, I get up to investigate.  All the lights in the house are on and Little Miss is happily coloring at the dining room table with Big Baby at her side.

Go. Back. To. BED!!!!!!

She goes.  I stay up.  Predictably, Baboo fusses a few minutes later.  I look at random blogs while nursing her.  She’s smiling the toothless grin.  She’s awake and ready for the day.

And of course…..  The door opens.  I hear the pitter patter of little feet.  I try unsuccessfully to not  bear a grudge.  To be the cheerful Mommy who lets it roll off her back.  It doesn’t work.  I glare. 

I sit in the corner of the couch.  I let my voice gentle, but I don’t initiate much conversation with Little Miss.  She gets thoughtful.  She gets quiet…..

 She begins to snore…..

Deceptively Peaceful, isn’t she? 

4 thoughts on “Deceptively Peaceful

  1. Hoo boy do I sympathize with this one. I don’t do well on no sleep and early morning coloring sessions always baffle me. 😛 Actually, I just submitted my resignation letter at my place… no one took me seriously though. Hope you get some sleep tonight!

  2. my babies, being exactly 13 months 2 weeks apart, in age, we like this, also. I remember vividly, i still wonder if twin would’ve been easier……….enjoy every minute you can, and for God’s sake, if they rake a nap, join them, every chance you get!

Leave a comment