Again

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged and even longer since I’ve done a Five Minute Friday.  But here I am, “again.”  🙂

The ruts feel so deep I’m afraid I’ll never get out.  I back up and move forward again and again.  My wheels spin.  The engine revs.  And I’m stuck.

Stuck feeling this way again.

Stuck doing the same things each week, each day.

Stuck making a mess in the same ruts of my mind.

I don’t think this is what they mean by ‘establishing routine.’

I’m floundering and uninspired.  And it all seems so repetitive.

I want a fresh, new breath of air to break through and sweep this place clean.  I want the cobwebs blown out and some Fantasia brooms to knock out the last of the stale dust in the corners.

Your mercies are new every morning, but my stale bread-crumb eyes are straining to see that.

Someone once compared God making the sun rise each morning and set each evening to a little kid driven wild with delight at a new trick he’d just learned crying, “Again!” each and every time.

If you’ve made me in your image, give me those eyes God.  Bring me back to the wonder of again.

13 thoughts on “Again

  1. Oh, that we delight anew in God’s awesome-ness! Isn’t it reassuring to know that He will bring us back again and again to the place where He wants us to be?

  2. “Create in me a clean heart, renew a right spirit within me, restore the joy of Your salvation, give me a willing spirit to obey You.” – I’ve been praying that whenever it creeps into the back of my mind. I know it from a song, but discovered it’s a bible verse (who knew the hymn writers read the bible!!! Doh!).
    Someone told me the desert places are important – it’s where God moulds you. All the important people went into the desert before they came out rocking.
    Have a great weekend.

  3. Dear Val,

    This is a God-incidence as I just found the quote by G.K. Chesterton at another blog:
    “Because children have abounding vitality, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, “Do it again”; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony. But perhaps God is strong enough to exult in monotony. It is possible that God says every morning, “Do it again” to the sun; and every evening, “Do it again” to the moon.”

    Praying right now that God will lift your spirits and your eyes to Him…you will get through this…praying for you today.

  4. Dear Val,
    I was trying to leave you a comment on a post that was in my email but not here anymore…anyway, I hope you feel better, and it sounds like you are making lots of smart choices from your post…it is hard to not let our feelings get the best of us…I’ve been struggling this week, but a walk did help some endorphins come…praying you will feel beautiful 🙂 in the process…you have been through a lot, my friend…sending you a hug.

Leave a Reply

