Connected

Five Minute Friday again!  Today’s word is Connected.  We write for five minutes–just five minutes on the given topic and remember how much we love words and how if we let them they will teach us things we didn’t expect.

We met the first day of college in this oh-so-groan-worthy Freshman orientation course that I can only assume was common to small Christian colleges called “Connect.”  He had cowboy boots on.  He looked nice enough.

We got to know one another little by little.  He invited me to the symphony and I insisted it be an “Undate.”  We were friends, really good friends for two years.  And then suddenly we hit that place where it seemed like there was something deeper happening.

Now we’re on our third deployment.  I’m thankful for the language and schema that Madeleine L’Engle books give me.  I think of the idea that WHERE doesn’t matter, but WHO does and I remember that even though he’s somewhere past the International Dateline and I can’t keep track of what time zone he could possibly be in, that we are still connected.  Our hearts still beat together.  Even so far apart, we are still somehow one.

I miss him deep into the marrow of my bone and am stymied by how much harder this is than I remember it.  I want not to let myself get totally numb.  I need to do this humanly.  I need to do this as ME and not as other wives who seem to be able to shrug these long separations off as though it was just a business trip.

We are connected.  We will discover it anew this time.  There will be days and ways that we will ‘just know’ something of the other and moments when his words in an email or a letter will touch something in a way that he couldn’t have known I needed from the other side of the world and that heart connection regardless of distance will be affirmed.

7 thoughts on “Connected

  1. Hi there! Visiting from the GypsyMama’s linkup. Thank you for sharing a glimpse into a hard area of your life… I cannot imagine the courage and strength and patience it takes to be away from your husband. I have so much admiration and respect for women (and couples!) who are able to maintain their marriages during deployments. I hope this blog can be a great outlet for you to share your heart during this time.

  2. Thank you so much for coming by my site!!! It means the world to me…I don’t have many visitors at all. Bless you and your family while your hubby is away…I don’t know the feeling of deployment but my husband has brittle bone disease and has had to be hospitalized and it’s horrible to have to leave him there alone, just for a few minutes…I’m sorry that’s the most I can relate to your feelings. Thank you again.

    • It was a joy to read your post! Your husband’s condition sounds so challenging. None of us can completely know how it feels to know the trials of another, but we can sure come along side as they go through it. Thanks for popping over her. 🙂

  3. Hi – thanks for commenting on my blog; it inspired me to visit yours, and I have to say I’ve gobbled up every word I’ve read so far. I too am a military spouse with 5 (relatively short) deployments under our belt. I’m also a Jesus lover and proud mama to two Bigs and a Little. I’m your newest follower and can’t wait to get to know you on this blogsphere. Blessings to you and yours.

    • Tracey–It’s so nice to “meet” you. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog too thanks to Five Minute Fridays. It will be fun to get to know you. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed what you read. I feel like I’ve been so whiney lately! 😉

  4. Thanks so much for sharing. Totally connecting on the deployment issue and grateful to read along as you process through writing as well. Such a gift! Praying for you too as we enter the New Year–one that will, Lord willing, bring sweet reunions for each of us!

Leave a Reply

