Fairy Tales and Truth In Real Life

It’s Five Minute Friday again.  Wanna play?

I believe in Fairy Tales.

I believe in the truth in Fairy Tales.

I believe in the things that they speak most deeply to our hearts.

I ruminate on these prompts before I sit down to type sometimes and at first I was thinking about writing about how You don’t ever see what the “Happily Ever After” really looks like in Fairy Tales.  You don’t see that after the prince and princess get married it’s hard and it’s not all happy.

But then I remembered that I believe in Fairy Tales.  That I think Fairy Tales, in some ways, ARE real life.  They are the stories of dragons, and witches, and great peril coming to us.  Things that make us almost lose heart.  They are the story of our need for rescue, for help.  They make us sigh for beauty and for relief and it’s not just that they are an escape.  Sometimes when I read stories that talk about the duel between darkness and light my heart learns something far more real than is accessible to it in the language of plain-spoken teaching.

In my real life, I’m learning, I need to seek out the Fairy Tale.  Instead of shivering away from the fantastic, I need to be looking for the overarching story.  What songs does God keep repeating to my heart?  What themes of darkness plague me and how does the light wrap around and overcome them?

Real Life and Fairy Tales aren’t two separate things.  They work together and explain one another.  I want to search out the ways they do that in my life.

9 thoughts on “Fairy Tales and Truth In Real Life

  1. First, I have to say that I love the picture in your blog header. I had a lot of roly poly friends as a child.
    Second, I love the idea that real life and fairytales can coexist. I love the thought that fairytales are teaching my kids, and me, about larger principles and how to deal with hard things and that life can be beautiful amongst the mess if you look at it with the right perspective.
    Wonderful post. And thank you for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  2. I loved what you wrote about fairy tales: “They are the story of our need for rescue, for help. They make us sigh for beauty and for relief and it’s not just that they are an escape.” What fairy tales and your words above remind me of is that God has come and rescued my heart, our hearts, from the darkness of sin. He brings me/us into the beauty of His love and He calls us His beloved. May I dare to believe that truth even when I feel most unlovely…
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful post!

  3. Bravo! I love how you’ve tied together real life and fairy tales. This is so good: “Sometimes when I read stories that talk about the duel between darkness and light my heart learns something far more real than is accessible to it in the language of plain-spoken teaching.” I’m sure this is why Jesus taught in parables. I’m a sucker for a good story. 😉

    Thank you for thoughtfully sharing your heart in this space. You are a blessing!

  4. “Instead of shivering away from the fantastic, I need to be looking for the overarching story.” So, so true. Beautifully written post. Glad to have found you through Five Minute Friday.

Leave a Reply

