Tree Days

Once upon a time there was a girl who stood tall and believed that she was beautiful.  She moved in a spaciousness of soul and a wideness of grace.  She trusted her instincts as a wife and mama.  She didn’t get her knickers in a twist if the house wasn’t picked up or the laundry put away because she KNEW WHO SHE WAS AND WHOSE SHE WAS down to her toes.  She didn’t define her worth by the number on a scale or the number of tantrums her children had that day.  Her beauty wasn’t tied to the state of her home or the lack of worry in her mind.

Some day I want to be that girl.

I get tastes of it every now and then.  Today I feel content and rooted in who I am.  I feel comfortable in my own skin and safe to step out without doubting my every step.  I received some uplifting encouragement over the last couple of days and it’s left me standing taller and believing in myself more.

Days like today make me feel like I could be here more often if I could just remember whose workmanship I am.

He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”  Jeremiah 17:8

 

I’ve thought of this as “my” verse for a long time, so is it any wonder that one of the things that God seems to have been working on me on the longest is my rooting myself in Him and taking my identity not from the opinions of man (or women) or the assumptions I make about what people must think of me, but from Him and the knowledge of who He made me to be and that he has proclaimed who He made me to be to be good.

Days like today I hope for that.  I hope for this peace and this contentment to sink deep.  I hope for my roots to sink deep and to soak long in the waters of his delight.  I long to know that His face smiles upon me not because of who I am, or what I’ve done but because of His grace.  Because He chose to love me first.

I remember on these days that my response to Him can simply be to stand tall and beautiful in trust moving the way He made me to move.

I want more days like today.  Tree by the water Days.

 

 

 

One thought on “Tree Days

Leave a Reply

