Thoughts on Holy Saturday

Holy Saturday gets me.

It’s sandwiched between the more obvious Good Friday and Easter.

But there was a day in between.  When everyone thought it was over.  Everyone had to sit in their grief and their astonishment.  Everyone had to sit with their doubts.  Jesus said he was the Messiah….  So how was it that he was so easily defeated?  Where was his victory?  He’d died a humiliating, excruciating, awful death, and for one agonizing  day….  It all seemed absolutely meaningless.

And they had to keep the sabbath.  They had to sit through a day of enforced rest. 

When I’m grieving the last thing I want to do is rest, at least in the early stages.  In the beginning I want to charge full-on at whatever I can to get things done.  To fix something that can be fixed because this other something went irrevocably wrong.  I–even me who gets quiet and hunkers down in a crisis–hunger to be busy.  To NOT THINK. 

Instead they had to rest.  They had to sit in the quiet.  They had to abstain from anything that could be defined as ‘work.’  They had to sit and let it sink in that it all had really happened.  It wasn’t just a nightmare. 

All they could do was sit in it, and cry, and grieve, and wonder. 

I’m intrigued by the traditions of ‘The Harrowing of Hell.’  (I know my friend, Andrea, will fill me in on what she’s experiencing with the Orthodox church there).  I’m intrigued with the idea that while the world sat in silence and rested and it seemed like it was all over, that Jesus was, at that point, declaring his victory over sin and death

My heart is still with those who are waiting…  In limbo.  Stuck in the grief and darkness before the victory and light.  The waiting and wondering place.  That place is hard.  That place is barren. 

Holy Saturday.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Holy Saturday

  1. Gorgeous! And I think this being-in-solidarity with those who are suffering, feel abandoned, and wonder if God and life and love will ever rise again is exactly what Holy Saturday is about.

    • Val, you have it down. right there. Sorry it took so long for me to get round to reading it.
      Perfect. You can add to that the waiting the disciples had to go through waiting for the Holy Spirit on Pentecost because after the Ascension they were left waiting again with a promise….and wait and wait and wait. It’s odd to me that I’m being graced with the smallest inkling of the bereftedness (if that’s a word) they may have felt, how forelorn could they have been?But that’s what the Church claims is Kairos time that….you know Madeleine. That when we all gather there during Divine liturgy…at that moment all times are one and for that instant Heaven touches earth and we are all experiencing time together in front of the Eucharist. That is the thing that blew me away the most I think, in the Orthodox Church…for just that minute…I cease to be a one way time traveler…and step into eternity,the past present and future all at once, at the wedding feast of the Lamb.wow.

Leave a Reply

