Mommy Resources

I’ve got two great websites for friends out there who have little ones: 

1)  Nancy Stewart’s Website:   Nancy Stewart is a local musician here in the Puget Sound area.  She plays in libraries a lot, and she’s just plain fun.  My favorite thing about this website is the free songs of the month with three or four years worth of archives.  Basically you can get a few CDs worth of children’s songs for free!  Some of the songs play there at the website, and all are available to download.  There are finger plays and suggested activities.  My girls and I take a half an hour to sing songs two or three times a week and we almost always use these.  It’s just an EASY , FUN thing that I can do to spend time with them.  Our favorite songs are “Dinosaurs in Cars,” “Tingalayo,” and “Doing the Penguin Waddling Walk.” 

2)  This is a website that I found through my sister-in-law.  No Time for Flashcards:  This is a former teacher who blogs about things that she does with her toddler-aged son.  LOTS of crafts and free-art ideas as well as songs and fingerplays. 

See–my kids don’t JUST run around spreading cornstarch and soap and cinnamon and other substances throughout my house.  I actually DO engage their little minds from time to time!  😉

Anybody else have any good Mom resources that you’ve found out there on the web?  I’d love to see them!

2 thoughts on “Mommy Resources

  1. I’ll be moving to the Puget Sound area in May (will be a Navy wife on 3/21!)… just wondering if you had some advice about the area. I looked for a place to e-mail you, but couldn’t find it so I thought I’d just leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

