Grateful

I was just sitting here thinking…

I still feel like tar.  I have no energy, my glands are huge, I have a cough that shakes the earth. 

The kids are still sick. 

And Little Miss insisted on us both getting up at 5 a.m. this morning.

Days like this do not make me happy.  They make me grumpy. 

My main focus of the day is to survive.  More movies…  More couch time.  More, just doing my best to get by.

But at a little after 4 p.m. today, my husband is going to walk through the door.  He is still feeling sick.  He may be grumpy.  Things may not be perfect between us this evening.  They probably won’t be.

But he’s going to come home tonight.  I don’t have to do the sick kids thing all by myself indefinitely.  He will walk through the door, and he will help. 

I KNOW BETTER than to take that for granted.  I am so incredibly grateful.

5 thoughts on “Grateful

  1. Whenever I feel overwhelmed, I think of how my mother always found the energy somewhere. That gets me through it. I wish I could tell her that. I wish I could tell her a lot of things.

    My daughter is 18 months now, and I haven’t shared one second of her life with my mother. But I look at the little one’s eyes, and I can see her there. And then I realize she’s been there every second.

    Merry Christmas.

  2. Greg, I’ve been thinking about you. I was hoping you’d pop in and say something. 🙂

    I can’t believe your little one is 18 months old! I’m sure she is gorgeous and beautiful. And I’m sure your Mom knows and cherishes her from her spot in eternity.

  3. I hope you all get better soon. It is horrid when the whole family is sick…it’s bad enough when just one is sick! Get better, relax, watch some movies, eat some chocolate! And try to sleep!

  4. That’s great, having an attitude of gratitude. I bet you’re a half full person like me. I try to find the silver lining in all situations. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

