Forward Movement

When my summer ran away with me, so did my momentum for working the PPD problem in military communities.  Then last week, I had my first conference call as a PSI Coordinator for military families (how cool is that?!).  That lit a fire under me, and I’ve spent the week beginning to work the issue through–calling folks to find out what resources are out there, and hatching little plans in my head to increase awareness of the issue.

I’m starting at home, because that just makes sense, and things are starting to happen.  I’m hoping that eventually, I’ll be able to present some material to the powers that be, and to people who are in a position to help Mom’s dealing with PPMDs.  I’ll have a meeting this week with a social worker on base to talk about setting up a support group.  Things are going to happen.  My awareness and advocacy buttons are all pushed, and I’m ready to yell loud…   Actually, I think I’m channeling Mom.  😉

It’s exciting.  And for the first time since I stopped teaching, I feel  purposeful and fulfilled and like I’m doing more than spinning my wheels. 

I love it.

4 thoughts on “Forward Movement

  1. Val, that’s awesome. Good luck with the support group. There are people who so need it!!! It was nice knowing I wasn’t the only one. A support group can be amazing.

  2. What a great opportunity for ministry — you have such a depth of experience to share with others, Val! I’m so excited for you and I’ll be praying for you as you begin stepping into this role. There is such a need for supports like this!

Leave a Reply

