Coming out of the whirlwind–with bullets

  • I haven’t blogged in quite some time and I’m not sure where to start.  We’re coming out of the whirlwind and getting busy with more ‘routine’ things.  Life is, as always, crazy, chaotic, full of love, challenging, and good. 
  • Houston was wonderful.  Gramma K, is undoubtedly one of the best Grandma’s in the history of Grandma’s, and she spoiled my girls rotten.  We spent good, solid time with family, especially Andy’s grandparents.  I got to swim laps many mornings first thing, and attend a Pilates class with my mother-in-law (now there’s bonding for you!).  We thought Gustav was going to rain on our parade coming home, but we were able to fly out safely on our original leave-date.
  • Husband officially checked out of his command this week.  Three days shy of their leaving for deployment.  It’s strange that he’s done there.  It’s strange that, unless our feelings change about re-enlisting after this turn, or the Navy pulls a fast one on us (ALWAYS a possibility), we’re done with the deployment thing.  I find that I wrapped a lot of my identity up in being the wife of a deploying service member and as that shifts I feel like I’m losing a part of myself.  Deployments and Detachments were so hard, but they were also the ground to show me my strength.  Part of me is afraid that without those challenges I’ll lose sight of that strength, and that a part of me will retreat into hiding.  We’re anxious to see how things will go in his new command.
  • While we were gone, my application to become a Postpartum Support International Coordinator for military families was accepted.  I am SO excited about this opportunity, and overwhelmed at how to even get started.  I hope that I can be an agent for change, and support women as someone who has been where they’ve been.
  • We enrolled Little Miss in preschool last week.  I can’t believe she’s old enough.  I can’t believe she is so excited.  I am excited, but terribly nervous about it all, and I’m not sure how our schedule is going to work out with all of it.
  • Husband is home.  Really home.  And it is good, and hard, and weird.
  • The kids are up, Husband is up, and it’s time to be with my family.
3 thoughts on “Coming out of the whirlwind–with bullets

  1. Wow! That is a great thing that you are doing! I wish there was some way I could do something like that. I think you are really going to provide some women with the support they need.
    My little one started preschool, and my oldest started kindergarten. When did our kids get so big!

  2. Thanks for the update, bullets notwithstanding. :-p

    I’m so happy for you that your hubby’s going to be around a lot more now. Yay! 🙂

    Little Miss will do great in preschool – I hope she has a great teacher to help you feel more at ease with such a big change.

  3. normal… well, that is all relative, right? what we call normal, civilians shake their heads at. you sound like you are going to be busy, productive and helping others, your family is together, safe and looking forward to new challenges and adventures. How cool! you may be done with deployments (fingers xed for that, we are heading into another one in a few months) but you can sure help others with how to survive and grow during deployments!

    Congrats on the new position, and all the rest.

    LAW

Leave a Reply

