A New Crusade

I know I don’t use the English language correctly all the time.  In fact, you could probably find several major botch-ups in every single post, including this one, if you really, really tried.

One word that I really, intensely dislike is, “impactful.”

The first time I heard it, I said, “Is that a real word?”

When I found it online at dictionary.com, I was very, very disappointed.

I was vindicated today however when I learned that ‘impactful’ only made it into the dictionaries after people started wrongly saying it.

Which means that it’s really not a word.  Or at least it shouldn’t be. 

See?

And so I launch my crusade against the word ‘Impactful.’  Care to join me?

9 thoughts on “A New Crusade

  1. irregardless annoys me more, i hafta say. it’s a word that’s supposed to make the speaker sound intelligent, despite being a double negative (usually associated with pidgins). the linked article is a little short on actual journalism, which is beautifully ironic – “with impact” rarely suffices as a replacement, and the word owes more to powerpoint presentations than to journalism. i like this better:

    “Impactful is not a word. To replace that business jargon, use an adjective like influential, powerful, effective or memorable.”

  2. Your link IS better (and hello there, sir!), and I do agree with you both about irregardless.

    Impactful just SOUNDS ugly. It jars my head when I hear it and my mouth when I say it.

  3. Uh have you written that letter to your senator yet…giggle.

    I hate the word conversate. That is a St. louis special.

  4. Oh, I abhor impactful! I also hate impact used as a transitive verb: I am not a bowel, and therefore not impacted; I am affected. (Or maybe I’m just plain touched, but anyway, I’ll take up my pitchfork and join your crusade!)

  5. Irregardless is at least an honest mistake. Impactful and impact as a transitive verb are just ridiculous, self-important business jargon.

    Never heard “conversate.” Yes, that IS special!

    I also intensely dislike the use of the word “around” to replace “about,” “regarding,” or “with regard to.” More self-important business jargon.

Leave a Reply

