Momma Zen gems

I got a book in the mail today.  I love when I get books in the mail.  Amazon.com definitely makes my  happy list.

After reading a post over at Jen Lemen’s blog, I knew that I needed to get the book, Momma Zen And so I did.

I had a feeling it would have many underline worthy passages.  

I was right.

  • Your life is your practice….  Your spiritual practice does not occur someplace other than in your life right now, and your life is nowhere other than where you are. 
  • Leap into the sheer wonder of the unplanned life.
  • Focus on what is in front of you.
  • This is your new spiritual practice:  “Polly Wolly Doodle.”  (In reference to the singing of motherhood being a kind of meditation).
  • What happens when you watch a TV football game with the sound turned off?  The players still scramble, they still fall, but they are saved the injury of evaluation…..Practice greater faith and lesser blame.  Take this blink of time when you are still stumbling at the gate, still awkward at the tasks, to turn down the sound and tumble freely into the state of grace.
  • Practice acceptance on yourself so you can be kinder with your child.

And I’m only on page 42.

One thought on “Momma Zen gems

Leave a Reply

