Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

“Have yourself a Merry little Christmas, Let your heart be light….”

My heart *is* light this morning.

It is light with the giggles of my little girl and the squeals and babbles of my baby… light with the frolicking of a new kitten, and the solid purrs of an old friend…. 

Light with the joy of Husband coming home in time for Christmas.

My heart is revelling in the brightness of family together, of Christmas lights, of cookie-baking, and present wrapping.

I am thankful for “better living throuch chemistry” and for the hope that comes from brokenness being mended.

In the past few years the line of this song that struck the deepest chord with me was, “Until then we’ll have to muddle through somehow…”

This year, my heart is remembering how to be light…  My spirit is feeling free to celebrate.  My soul is grateful for the birth of a king in a humble hay-filled stable and for the continual birth of his light in my life.  Grateful for Immanuel–God with us.

I feel myself dancing and twirling with the girls, I hear my voice lift with the carols of the season, and it feels incredible.

There will be bittersweet tears of remembrance this year…  They are unavoidable now.  But that’s ok.

 There may be anxiety about where in life we will be for next Christmas… 

But I WILL let my heart be light.

I am so grateful that I can.  Right now.   In this moment. 

6 thoughts on “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

  1. I’m glad you’re letting your heart be light. I’m trying to. 🙂
    Oh! And I have a package to mail to you but you won’t get it before Christmas. Surprise, surprise, huh? Just think of it as me wanting to extend the holiday a little bit 😉

  2. “I feel myself dancing and twirling with the girls, I hear my voice lift with the carols of the season, and it feels incredible.”

    I am thrilled that incredible is a word used to describe how you feel!

    Have a beautiful Christmas!

  3. This post just makes me smile – I’m so glad that this year, you get to have some of the joy of a light heart and that you get a break from the muddling. Hope your Christmas was the merriest!

Leave a Reply

