Countdown

There will be only one more PostSecret post before Husband comes home.

Only one more garbage day.

Possibly one more credit card payment (I can’t remember when we get that bill…)

One more visit to church.

One more losing Monday.

There are 7 ‘pumpkins’ left in our M-n-M jar.

The same number of Xes to draw.

Only one more Grey’s Anatomy to watch online (and that will be the Season Premier!)

Only seven more nights of old TV show DVDs to watch as I’m falling asleep.

One more home-blessing day.

Finally the excitement is crowding out the overwhelmedness.  This is good news. 

Now if I can just find the gumption to get the house in order, the welcome home signs made, the welcome home dinner groceries purchased, the outside chores that I’ve neglected for 3 months accomplished, and…  a whole lot of laundry done.

We’re close.  So very close.

7 thoughts on “Countdown

  1. I’m so happy for you that Husband is coming home! You must be so excited. My man will be coming home from Iraq in roughly 2 months, though I have no idea where he will be flying in or when he will arrive.

    Do you think it will be too overwhelming to have a group of friends greet him at the airport? (He’s an officer so there won’t be any ceremony) What about a surprise party waiting for him at home? Perhaps we should delay the party for a month so that he can readjust? I don’t know what to expect!

    I’ve never done this before so any suggestions could be helpful. Thanks!! 🙂

  2. mowie–

    I bet he would love a party, BUT your idea of delaying it a month or even just a couple of weeks might be the best idea. My biggest piece of advice for you is to communicate with him about it (I guess that nixes the surprise party idea, sorry ;)). He will know best what he needs to reacclimate. Husband and I like to keep things low key and just us for the first week or two at least after he comes home. That way he can settle in, and we can quietly work on readjusting to one another again before we get overwhelmed with people.

    I hope that helps!

  3. I hope that he is home to stay for a while and that you both take joy in being together once more! Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my blog – your blog is just wonderful and I look forward to reading more.

  4. I’ve been watching the calendar, anticipating your hubby’s return. I know that may seem weird, since I don’t know you guys, but I can relate to your situation. I’m so very excited for you. Soak in every moment.

    btw-love the new header!

Leave a Reply

