Two-Month Mark

Two months down.  That is both encouraging and discouraging.  The calendar has been that way the whole time really.  I refuse to start counting the actual days til I know a day, and until that day is a number that doesn’t feel so far away.  It could be a month.  It could be six weeks.  I’m hoping it won’t be longer. It hasn’t felt like ‘a long one,’ in some ways, but in others it sure has felt like ‘a long time.’  What is encouraging is that our last major milestone is coming up in a week–the trip to Dad’s.  Preparation and execution of that little adventure will make the next two weeks fly by.  And then of course there will be the aftermath and the recouperation period needed after being foolhardy enough to travel with a 4 month old and a two year old.

My marriage feels surreal right now.  My husband feels like a figment of my imagination.  I get to a point where I forget that he is a real, living person and not just a voice on the other side of the phone, or words on a page, or pictures in our Daddy book.  In some ways I worry that I won’t know what to do with him when he gets home.  

A letter came today.  A wonderful letter.  I don’t know what it is about words on a page to make you feel connected to a person, but hand-writing is second only to an actual conversation in my book.  We’ve both been a little lax on our letter-writing this go around, so it was a real treat to go to the mailbox and see that envelope covered in his handwriting.  The handwriting made him more real.

We’ve stayed busy.  We’ve done a lot.  I’ve accomplished some things I wanted to get accomplished, and let some other things slip that I shouldn’t have.  That second list is kind of amusing I think so I’ll share it.

I have effectively (or ineffectively as the case may be):

  • Not gotten the slow leak in the back tire looked at by the tire guys.  Maybe I should do that tomorrow….
  • Forgotten to refill the birdfeeders.  Poor little birdies
  • Killed all the outdoor flowers with inattention.  Really.  I totally inherited my Mother’s black-thumb.
  • Invited kitties into our yard to utilize our turtle sandbox as a litterbox…  Really need to get that taken care of….
  • Managed to grow some mold….  Seriously–I have been cleaning, I’ve been trying to incorporate FlyLady into my life, even, but the friendly fungus still found it’s way.  I have done my best to thoroughly eradicate it.

I’m looking forward to pumpkin picking time.  I am, I am.  In the meantime it’s back to trying to live these days to the fullest while still hoping that they’ll fly by.

One thought on “Two-Month Mark

  1. When Kyle and I spent our summers apart I felt the same way you do. I would tell him, “you don’t seem real.” I know you know somewhere inside that it will all come back the moment you see him. The surrealness itself is sad though.

Leave a Reply

