Gremlins……

Military Spousesknow it well:  When our s/os leave for any period of time there will be gremlins.  The kids will get sick, things will break, issues that he/she would have dealt with will fly out of control.  Well….  for a long time when DH would go out things wouldn’t break and colds and flu bugs would stay at bay and instead, it seemed, something worse would happen with a family member.  I’ve written about this before.

This away time we’ve had our fair share of real gremlins.  And I am grateful, because *knock wood* our family has stayed healthy in the larger sense of the word….

But here’s our rundown with the latest addition:

  • I got a small cold immediately after DH left.  Kicked it fast.
  • The first weekend, after a marathon of helping Little Miss back into bed (57 times, I believe….) I threw my back out.  I couldn’t stand up straight that day.  It was not good.  That lasted only about 24 hours.  I was so thankful, as I couldn’t figure out how I would make it through with my back out and a two year old and pregnant. 
  • Little  Miss had a tummy bug that wouldn’t quit and we couldn’t get in to see a doc.  She was sick for 2.5 weeks–1.5 of those being during this little adventure.
  • Little Miss went on a sleep strike and would not stay in her bed for many nights in a row. 
  •  Our phone line snapped in a little bit of wind and fell down rendering us phoneless.  The phone company would not believe it was their phoneline until I checked our phone box.  Yay for me and my skills with a flat-head screwdriver.
  • I caught….  these ‘allergies’ which feel like bronchitis to me.  I’ve been sick for most of the last week.  The meds the doctor prescribed made it worse.  I still have rainbow pleghm and phenomenally amazing coughing fits.
  • I got a phone call saying that there was a good chance my doctor would be in a warzone in two weeks instead of delivering my child…  It’s really anybody’s guess who will wear the catcher’s mit.  Stinks much more for her than me, but it’s a little late in the game for such a switcheroo.

And now for the worst of all occurring yesterday:

  • I lost our cat.  Chester must have slipped out without me knowing it at some point yesterday when I was in or out of the garage, or in or out with Little Miss….  When we left to go work in the church nursery last night I saw a flash of black and thought, “I’m sure Chester is inside.”  When we got home, I assumed he was in one of the bedrooms or closets curled up asleep.  I woke up at 1 or 2 and realized I hadn’t seen or heard him, checked the house, checked the yard.  He’s gone….  I feel absolutely terrible, and I don’t know what to do.  He’s been a part of our family since Husband left for Basic, and Little Miss adores him….  I’m praying he’ll come back or we’ll scout him out somehow. 

So yes….  I am glad for the lack of major catastrophe over the last almost three weeks, but this little stuff has truly worn me down to a nub.  And I really want our kitty to come back.  And Husband. 

5 thoughts on “Gremlins……

  1. So is Chester home yet? And by the way, I love the name Chester for a cat. Reminds of the BUNNICULA books that I still love to read.

  2. Annie–Mom named Chester… after Chester in Gunsmoke. Because after she ran over him when he was a kitten, he had a ‘hitch in his getalong.’ 😉

    And yes he’s found. Yahoo!

  3. Hee hee. My granny would have approved of naming a cat after Chester in Gunsmoke. She was one huge Gunsmoke fan.

    And I’m glad he is found. Black cats do tend to like to hide in the darkest places. Yes, I speak from experience with a cat named Doc.

  4. Just wanted to say hi, from another Navy wife. I just found your blog today and have enjoyed reading about things that I know all too well. My husband is currently on an IA.

Leave a Reply

