Why I Shouldn’t Watch Grey’s Anatomy….

Christina:  There’s a club.  The Dead Dad’s club, and you can’t be in it til you’re in it.  You can try to understand, you can sympathize but until you feel that loss….  My Dad died when I was nine.  George, I’m really sorry you had to join the club

George:  I don’t know how to exist in a world where my Dad doesn’t.

Christina:  Yeah, that never really changes. 

I could go on and on about….  the feelings that come over you when you watch your parent slip away from earth at an age too early for them, and too early for you (which is really any age for either of you).  I could bore you all in an account of the dripping, pouring, snot and tears that came out of me as I watched the episode.  I could talk about those last conversations that you have that you relive over and over again even though they were about the most mundane things on earth….  And I could talk about what it is like to stand watch, to hold your parents hand….  to rage against the fact that you’ve been robbed out of time that you should have had to say good-bye.

I could do all that in far greater detail than I just did.  But there isn’t any reason….  Because the quote above says everything.

One thought on “Why I Shouldn’t Watch Grey’s Anatomy….

  1. I’m not a part of the club… but I cried all through the show as well. I am so sorry for all that you’ve had to go through… and when I talk to my parents, I try to remember to be grateful for the time that I have.

    But you should watch Grey’s Anatomy. It’s a good show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

