A Brief Ode to Little Miss

Today as I was responding to the challenge over at Motherhood Is Not For Wimps to list those things that keep us afloat, I was reminded again of just what a gift Little Miss is.

The timing of her appearance in this world was both miraculous and heart-breaking.  I wish with everything in me that she had been able to have more than four months with her Gramma Caro.  But if she hadn’t shown up when she did, I don’t know where I’d be now.

The truth is, when you’re a Mom, you know for certain that life isn’t just about you.  You have this little person to take care of.  They are depending on you and you can’t screw it up.  This little person made me get up each and every morning and face the day even when I wanted to crawl under a rock.

There were many days in which, if given the choice, I would have much rather crawled under a rock, but when awoken by those insistent cries, I knew that I couldn’t.  I got out of bed, I picked up my baby and I did what needed to be done for both of us. 

Little Miss made me smile on days that I didn’t want to smile.  She made me laugh when I didn’t think there could be reason for laughter.  She made me see past myself and the hurt I was going through to provide for her needs.  A Mom who was falling a part wouldn’t serve her highest good.  So…  I couldn’t be that. 

We’ve walked through a lot together.  I think her and I could handle just about anything hand-in-hand.

And now she is teaching me to see the present.  To live in the moment.  To walk forward.  To keep moving.

My little girl is amazing.  I love her so much.

2 thoughts on “A Brief Ode to Little Miss

  1. Oh, how I know what you mean! I told my mom before she died that God gave me my son after trying for so long to have him, because he was going to take her. Without my son I would have fallen apart. But like you said, when you are a mom you know it isn’t all about you.

  2. I’m glad that you have this joy in your life. I got to visit a friend who has a nine-month old, and the joy was so infectious that I started joking that I was going to have a baby of my own–so I can relate to how you feel.

Leave a Reply

